advice wanted for managing small font collection

Get help with MainType here. Please do not post feature requests or bug reports here.
zgillenwater

advice wanted for managing small font collection

Post by zgillenwater »

I'm primarily a web designer, so here at work I don't have a large collection of fonts, at least compared with most of the people here who are probably fontophiles and have many thousands of fonts. I currently have 524 fonts installed, but I want to start getting them organized while my collection is still relatively small.

I've created a few groups with names like handwriting, decorative, serif, etc. I've used shortcuts instead of physically moving fonts into these groups. I'd like to have certain groups only loaded when I actually need them, and unloaded at all other times. I'm not clear on whether I "unload" or "uninstall" the fonts to do this. Can someone explain the distinction to me please?

I've looked at the User's Manual, but I'm confused by this passage in it:
"The performance of your system is affected by the number of active fonts. We recommend you have no more than 500 fonts installed, and on older systems with limited memory you should have no more than 100 or 200 active fonts. To ensure you can use as many fonts as you like, organize your fonts into groups and load or unload them when needed."

This seems to say that I should only have 500 fonts installed, and implies that groups allow you to keep as many fonts as you want on your system but not installed, but then says that you load and unload fonts in groups, not that you install and uninstall fonts in groups. So I'm confused -- if I want to streamline my system and get it to ignore the groups of fonts that I only need on special occasions (such as "decorative"), do I uninstall those groups or do I unload them?

I'd appreciate any advice people could share on good ways to manage my fonts, since I'm not a fontophile and just starting out in this endeavor.

Thanks,
Zoe