First Experience with MainType Plugin for InDesign CS5

Post your bug reports here. Include information that helps us to understand and reproduce the bug.
Brother Gabriel-Marie
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 6:12 pm

First Experience with MainType Plugin for InDesign CS5

Postby Brother Gabriel-Marie » Wed Feb 06, 2013 7:56 pm

Salvete! It has been a long time since I posted here! I just upgraded to Adobe InDesign CS5 and want to try out the new MainType 5.1's plugin.
So, here is my first experience with it.

In InDesign, I see a menu with "Plug-Ins" that has only one item, another menu, "High Logic" which has only one other menu, "High Logic FontHandler", which also only has one entry, "Options". You have to navigate three submenus to get to the item command, and those submenus are entirely empty other than the submenu. You should look at the first attachment, because the menu is redundant and quite cumbersome.

Next, when I do select Plug-Ins > High Logic > High Logic Font Handler > Options, all I get is an empty window (see the second attachment).

In MainType's Plug-In manager (see attachment), it shows the plugin version 1.1 for InDesign CS5) as installed and not in need of an update.

I can confirm that the FMSProxy service IS running.
I've restarted InDesign and MainType both and the plug-in still doesn't do anything.
Attachments
screenshot_MainType (MainType - Windows Font Manager)_001.png
Plug-In Manager showing active plugin
screenshot_MainType (MainType - Windows Font Manager)_001.png (8.53 KiB) Viewed 2559 times
screenshot_Adobe InDesign CS5 [InDesign]_003.png
CS5's plugin options window
screenshot_Adobe InDesign CS5 [InDesign]_003.png (3.13 KiB) Viewed 2559 times
screenshot_Adobe InDesign CS5 [InDesign]_002.png
screenshot of the looong menu sequence in InDesign CS5
screenshot_Adobe InDesign CS5 [InDesign]_002.png (10.22 KiB) Viewed 2559 times

Erwin Denissen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6583
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 12:41 am
Location: De Bilt, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: First Experience with MainType Plugin for InDesign CS5

Postby Erwin Denissen » Wed Feb 06, 2013 8:17 pm

I've moved the post to the correct forum.

The plugin will only try to load fonts that are not loaded but required by a document that is being opened in InDesign.

So if all is well it won't do much :wink:

We added the menu items mainly for future use, so for now it is indeed confusing. Sorry about that.
Erwin Denissen
High-Logic
Proven Font Technology

Brother Gabriel-Marie
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 6:12 pm

Re: First Experience with MainType Plugin for InDesign CS5

Postby Brother Gabriel-Marie » Wed Feb 06, 2013 8:22 pm

Hello, Mr. Denissen, thanks for the explanation.


Return to “MainType - Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest