Newly Added Glyphs Show as .notdef

Post your bug reports here. Include information that helps us to understand and reproduce the bug.
Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 6338
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:28 am
Location: Seven Kings, London UK
Contact:

Newly Added Glyphs Show as .notdef

Postby Bhikkhu Pesala » Fri Feb 05, 2016 1:12 pm

  1. I added 21 new glyphs to each style of my font
  2. I deleted the old version from MainType entirely removing them
  3. I copied the new version to my OpenType fonts folder
  4. I refreshed the Fonts Folder in MainType
  5. The fonts reappeared, could be installed, and worked as expected in applications
  6. The newly added glyphs all showed as .notdef glyphs although the zoom popup showed the correct glyph ID
  7. Restarting Windows fixed the problem

New Glyphs.png
New Glyphs.png (9.39 KiB) Viewed 318 times
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC10.1 Pro + MT7.0 @ Win10

Erwin Denissen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6056
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 12:41 am
Location: De Bilt, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Newly Added Glyphs Show as .notdef

Postby Erwin Denissen » Fri Feb 05, 2016 1:48 pm

It could be a MainType cache issue, and if that was the case, then simply restarting MainType would have solved the problem. You might want to try it if you ever happen to see this problem again.
Erwin Denissen
High-Logic
Proven Font Technology

Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 6338
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:28 am
Location: Seven Kings, London UK
Contact:

Re: Newly Added Glyphs Show as .notdef

Postby Bhikkhu Pesala » Fri Feb 05, 2016 2:29 pm

Erwin Denissen wrote:It could be a MainType cache issue, and if that was the case, then simply restarting MainType would have solved the problem. You might want to try it if you ever happen to see this problem again.

I will try it next time, if I remember, but my memory cache is nearly empty :(
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC10.1 Pro + MT7.0 @ Win10

Erwin Denissen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6056
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 12:41 am
Location: De Bilt, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Newly Added Glyphs Show as .notdef

Postby Erwin Denissen » Fri Feb 05, 2016 3:08 pm

Alternatively you can also try a Refresh (F5) inside the font list view. That should flush the internal font cache.
Erwin Denissen
High-Logic
Proven Font Technology


Return to “MainType - Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest