How to undo font deletion within MainType

Before asking a question on MainType look here for possible solutions and tutorials. Please do not post support requests here.
Post Reply
Erwin Denissen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7341
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 12:41 am
Location: De Bilt, The Netherlands
Contact:

How to undo font deletion within MainType

Post by Erwin Denissen » Wed Feb 20, 2013 1:36 pm

Since we've added more and more support for cleaning up font libraries, there is also a noticeable increase of support questions related to undoing such house-keeping.

The trick is to unignore all fonts you've accidentally deleted/removed through MainType. If you have removed fonts from your font library and marked them to be ignored from MainType they will be added to the list of ignored fonts. If you no longer wish to ignore a font you need to remove it from the ignore list.
maintype_021_ignoredfonts.png
maintype_021_ignoredfonts.png (14.33 KiB) Viewed 4006 times
To unignore individual items, select the items you want to repair and click "Unignore Selected". To unignore all items at once click "Unignore All".

Then the fonts will be restored to the MainType library.

Now if you also need the physical files, do select the fonts select the font(s) in the font view and right-click one of them to select "Export...". You are then asked to select a folder where you want MainType to save the font files on your file system.
Last edited by Bhikkhu Pesala on Wed Aug 27, 2014 5:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Corrected the English
Erwin Denissen
High-Logic
Proven Font Technology

nabsltd
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 12:35 am

Re: How to undo font deletion within MainType

Post by nabsltd » Fri Jun 29, 2018 2:25 am

Since these instructions no longer applies to MainType 8.0, perhaps this thread should be revised.

Also, was there a reason the change was made from "never really delete anything...just keep it in the database and ignore it" to "nuke it permanently from every location with no possibility for recovery"? I understand why the whole "just ignore it" paradigm was changed (too confusing for most people), but to go the opposite direction seems a bit overkill.

The trouble now is that the default "delete" option alsos delete the files from disk, and the delete doesn't even try to use the Recycle Bin. Since the "OK" button is the default in the confirmation dialog box, this means it's really easy to accidentally delete fonts with no chance for retrieval...just hit delete, and then "Enter". And, those two keys are very close on most keyboards with the inverted-T navigation buttons.

Can we get another "Delete" option that only removes the entry from the MainType database, and then add an option setting that lets the user pick which of the options will be the default? The current second option would be the better default for many situations.

Post Reply