Help with Kerning Pairs

Get help with FontCreator here. Please do not post feature requests or bug reports here.
misskris

Help with Kerning Pairs

Post by misskris »

I just upgraded to 8.0 from 7.5 and I'm thinking I've made a HUGE mistake. I've been taking handwriting and turning it into a .ttf for several years for clients and I've never had any problem kerning. I see that's all been changed with the Open Type Designer. I thought I had it all figured out - I'll create anywhere from 20-800 pairs depending on the font. But with 8.0 - I can no longer see the kerning in the preview, where I could in 7.5, and I can't get it to show the kerning changes when I export the .ttf and install in my Adobe applications.

I'm not a font designer, I generally can only spend about 30 minutes per font - so if someone could give me the general steps to ensure that the kerning pairs I create will actually work - that would be awesome. I have never had a kerning pair not be recognized before this version, and I just don't understand what might be some of the common reasons why a kerning pair is created, but isn't recognized.

And last question - because the old kerning table has been discontinued in this version - does this mean that .ttf can no longer be kerned? Will I have to save as an .otf?

Thank you so much for any help!!
Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer

Re: Help with Kerning Pairs

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala »

The legacy "kern" table has not been discontinued.
You can choose to include either or both "kern" and "GPOS" tables in your fonts in the export settings.

Professional fonts from Adobe contain only GPOS tables so if Adobe applications are your main target, GPOS alone will be fine. Serif applications currently only support "kern" tables, and not GPOS, which is only supported in the latest version of DrawPlus.