Add dot to font

Get help with FontCreator here. Please do not post feature requests or bug reports here.
Post Reply
voyager
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2017 3:37 am

Add dot to font

Post by voyager » Wed Aug 01, 2018 12:26 pm

Hi,

I would like to add a dot to a font but I couldn't achieve it.

For example, I would like to add dot over Q. How can I do that. I copied a dot and pasted Q editing page but it did not work.

Thank you very much.

Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 7454
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:28 am
Location: Seven Kings, London UK
Contact:

Re: Add dot to font

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala » Wed Aug 01, 2018 12:36 pm

Are you simply trying to modify the design of Q, or do you wish to add a new character Q with dot above?

To copy the dot glyph outline, you need to open it in the Glyph Edit Window, and copy it there, then paste that into the Glyph Edit Window for Q.

If you wish to create a new composite glyph Q with dot above, copy both glyphs in the Glyph Overview, open a new blank glyph, and paste both glyph members to create a new composite glyph. Adjust the position of the dot, and decide on what code-point if any you will assign to this new glyph.

As far as I can tell Q Dot Above is not encoded in the Unicode system.
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC11.5 Pro + MT8.0 @ Win10 1803 build 17134.345

voyager
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2017 3:37 am

Re: Add dot to font

Post by voyager » Wed Aug 01, 2018 12:41 pm

Hi,
I created a new character for new Q then copy the old Q character on the new Q character. But I cannot past any dot character into the new Q character edit windows.

Thank you

Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 7454
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:28 am
Location: Seven Kings, London UK
Contact:

Re: Add dot to font

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala » Wed Aug 01, 2018 12:45 pm

Read my reply again.

How will you type this character in your Windows applications?
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC11.5 Pro + MT8.0 @ Win10 1803 build 17134.345

voyager
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2017 3:37 am

Re: Add dot to font

Post by voyager » Wed Aug 01, 2018 1:18 pm

Hi,

You told me that "To copy the dot glyph outline, you need to open it in the Glyph Edit Window, and copy it there, then paste that into the Glyph Edit Window for Q"

I opened Glyph Edit Window for glyph outline (dotaccent, $02D9) and copy it (CTRL + C), then I opened Glyph Edit Window for Q and tried to paste (CTRL + V) that into this window but it did not work.

Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 7454
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:28 am
Location: Seven Kings, London UK
Contact:

Re: Add dot to font

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala » Wed Aug 01, 2018 1:30 pm

That is because you already created a composite glyph with one glyph member, Q, by copying the Q from the glyph overview.

If you want to modify the existing glyph Q then my method will work because the glyph Q is a simple glyph.

To create a new composite glyph, copy both Q and dot above, and paste them into a new empty glyph, or make your existing new glyph empty first.

Alternatively, insert a new glyph member to the existing Composite glyph, and browse to find the dot above accent.
Insert  new composite glyph member.png
Insert new composite glyph member.png (34.02 KiB) Viewed 360 times
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC11.5 Pro + MT8.0 @ Win10 1803 build 17134.345

voyager
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2017 3:37 am

Re: Add dot to font

Post by voyager » Wed Aug 01, 2018 1:57 pm

Thank you,

I understand the problem. I insert character but in your explanation, I see that I should insert glyph. Sorry I am not good at the details. I couldn't the success it.

So what is the difference between character and glyph?

Thank you very much.

Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 7454
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:28 am
Location: Seven Kings, London UK
Contact:

Re: Add dot to font

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala » Wed Aug 01, 2018 4:54 pm

Character or glyph is not the point. The difference is between copying a glyph from the glyph overview and copying glyph contours from the glyph edit window.
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC11.5 Pro + MT8.0 @ Win10 1803 build 17134.345

voyager
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2017 3:37 am

Re: Add dot to font

Post by voyager » Wed Aug 01, 2018 7:05 pm

Hi,
Thank you very much. I solved the problem.
But I have very interesting problems now.
1) I cannot write anything right side of the symbol that I created.
2) When I write the second symbol, it overwrites on the first symbol (image 1)
3) The word symbol screen looks very strange as the symbol is on the right (image 2)
Could you review the attachments (I sent also the font) and help me, please.
Thank you
Attachments
2.png
2.png (48.13 KiB) Viewed 347 times
1.png
1.png (4.84 KiB) Viewed 347 times

Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 7454
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:28 am
Location: Seven Kings, London UK
Contact:

Re: Add dot to font

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala » Wed Aug 01, 2018 8:04 pm

Check the side-bearings.
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC11.5 Pro + MT8.0 @ Win10 1803 build 17134.345

Leon Gauthier
Posts: 102
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 6:07 am

Re: Add dot to font

Post by Leon Gauthier » Thu Aug 02, 2018 5:19 am

Hey, Voyager, I completely understand wanting to just jump in and do stuff; that is my preferred method. However, creating fonts is a little more complex than one might suspect. Trust me, reading/watching a few tutorials will go a long way in shedding light on this subject and they might even inspire you to try things you had not even thought of. Bhikkhu has created a boat load of tutorials which will soon enough make you conversant with the intricacies of crafting fonts... check them out at viewforum.php?f=4

Post Reply