Copying Font - Urgent!

Discuss FontCreator here, please do not post support requests, feature requests, or bug reports!
minime

Copying Font - Urgent!

Post by minime »

Hi,

I'm new to Font Creation and am using it to create a new set of font urgently.

These were what I did:

1. I open up mshei.ttf (chinese font) and DINNextLTPro-Regualr.otf fonts.
2. Next, I copy all Upper case and lower case alphabets A-Z of DINNextLTPro-Regualr.otf and paste special (Glyph Outline Data) to mshei.ttf

The chinese fonts worked fine. However, the spacing for alphabets A-Z looks awfully wrong. All the letters are wrongly spaced ramdonly.
Also, the bottom of Lower case alphabets g , j, p , q, y got cut off.

What have I done wrong?

Please advise urgently. Thanks!
Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer

Re: Copying Font - Urgent!

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala »

minime wrote:What have I done wrong?!
For a start you have copied glyphs from a copyrighted font. Definitely not recommended, though it has nothing to do with the spacing problem. First, find another font without license restrictions.

I suspect that the Chinese font is monospaced, and the other font is proporitional.

Which version of FontCreator are you using?
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC15 + MT12.0 @ Win 10 64-bit build 19045.2486
minime

Post by minime »

Thanks for your prompt reply!

Noted on the copyrighted issue. Thanks.

You are right. The chinese font is monospaced. How do i get around this?

I'm using version 5.5

Cheers!
Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala »

minime wrote:You are right. The chinese font is monospaced. How do i get around this?
m using version 5.5
Copy glyphs from a monospace font.
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC15 + MT12.0 @ Win 10 64-bit build 19045.2486
minime

Post by minime »

Thanks. Will look for non copyrighted proportional spaced font.
minime

Post by minime »

Hi there,

I have solved the spacing issue. Thanks.