Which accents and international characters are necessary?

Discuss FontCreator here, please do not post support requests, feature requests, or bug reports!
PJMiller
Top Typographer
Top Typographer

Which accents and international characters are necessary?

Post by PJMiller »

I am building a font.

I have done the alphabet (both upper and lower) and numbers and the usual punctuation and other characters. But to be really useful to the most number of people I need some accented characters and other unicode characters, Obviously I could go for the full Unicode character set but this wouldb be a LOT of work.

I have added many accented characters already but I have no experience of this, I could be adding characters that hardly anyone will make use of and I could be missing out characters that many people would find useful.

Does anyone have any advice on which characters are essential, which characters are nice to have and which ones are not really worth bothering with?
Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer

Re: Which accents and international characters are necessary?

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala »

Recommended Glyphs

It requires some careful thought about your intended customers, and which languages you need your fonts to support. Creating composites is not particularly time-consuming once you have created the base glyphs and the required accents. The Eastern European Transform script will do much of the donkey work for you if you want wider support than average. The default character set for a new font may be sufficient for most users.

The Letters Database is a useful resource.

Latin Basic, Latin-1 Supplement, and Latin Extended-A will provide support for most European languages.
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC15 + MT12.0 @ Win 10 64-bit build 19045.2486
Erwin Denissen

Post by Erwin Denissen »