Statusbar display of the coordinates of a point

We will move topics to this forum, once we've implemented the requested feature(s) and/or enhancement(s).
Post Reply
William
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 1957
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 6:41 pm
Location: Worcestershire, England
Contact:

Statusbar display of the coordinates of a point

Post by William » Sat Sep 14, 2013 11:13 am

I like to precisely position points using the arrow keys of the keyboard.

In the Glyph Edit window, if I highlight one point, then there is a numerical indication of the coordinates of that point on the Statusbar: if the arrow keys are then used to move that point, then the numerical indication changes too.

However, if I highlight more than one point, then there is no numerical indication of any of the coordinates on the Statusbar.

This is inconvenient if, for example, I wish to move two of the points at the top of an ascender both by, say, 256 font units in the same direction.

Could you possibly consider altering this so that if more than one point is selected that the coordinates of one of the points is displayed on the Statusbar please? This could perhaps be the coordinates of the leftmost selected point, and if two or more points are equally leftmost, then the uppermost one of those leftmost points.

At the moment I have to count the movement, then highlight one of the points to check the final position, then if it is not at the desired position then to select the two or more points again and then use the arrow keys again.

William Overington

14 September 2013

Alfred
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 924
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 8:08 am

Re: Statusbar display of the coordinates of a point

Post by Alfred » Sat Sep 14, 2013 4:35 pm

If you click and drag to move multiple points, the 'Move(x,y)' coordinates at the left-hand end of the status bar should tell you all you need to know. You can hold down the Shift key to constrain the movement to the horizontal or vertical.
FC11.0 Pro (Help) + MT7.0 (Help) • Windows 10

Erwin Denissen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6907
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 12:41 am
Location: De Bilt, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Statusbar display of the coordinates of a point

Post by Erwin Denissen » Mon Sep 16, 2013 8:02 am

You can also use the Movement tab on the Transform toolbar.
Erwin Denissen
High-Logic
Proven Font Technology

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests