gothic grain

A central location highlighting fonts created with FontCreator and/or Scanahand. Post information about your fonts here.
Krys

gothic grain

Post by Krys »

I've been working on this font which is taken from my writing and would welcome comments. I'm not a professional and am still learning.
Attachments
gothic grain 9.8.ttf
(95.26 KiB) Downloaded 505 times
Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer

Re: gothic grain

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala »

I have a long list of suggestions/recommendations. The most important is to fix the metrics as clipping may occur
  1. Upgrade to FontCreator 8.0. If you're happy with 6.5 that's fine as upgrading would require learning many new things, and 6.5 may be adequate for your needs, but editing your font in FC6.5 reminded me of just how much has been improved.
  2. Fix the metrics. Format, Settings, Metrics, Maximum, Calculate will do that. However, there's a bit of an issue with the Caps Height because it's calculated from the Capital H, which has a high ascender. I estimated a more sensible value of 1745 from the Capital E and changed it manually.
  3. The accents are too low. The vertical position of these should suit the lower case, so about half way between x-height and Caps Height is best. After moving these to the right position, Edit, Select Composites, Make Simple, Complete Composites.
  4. Fix the validation errors. There are many off-curve extremes, redundant points, and intersecting co-ordinates. There are also a few contours with incorrect directions. Notably the lowercase i has one that needs reversing.
  5. There was a stray contour far to the left in the ÷ glyph. I deleted it. Look for others by using Select All in each glyph and Zooming to the selection.
  6. The dotless i is a composite glyph, but should be simple. It has a dot, but should not have.
  7. The advance width of the non-marking return (the 3rd glyph) should be the same as the space width (521 funits)