Kelvinch - a font for body text.

A central location highlighting fonts created with FontCreator and/or Scanahand. Post information about your fonts here.
PJMiller
Top Typographer
Top Typographer

Kelvinch - a font for body text.

Post by PJMiller »

I have been working on this font for some months. Although I have worked with many CAD systems throughout my career I have no previous experience with typography.

I'm sure there are many mistakes and anomalies which I have missed and I'm not sure I have got the Panose numbers correct. Any constructive criticism will be gratefully accepted.

This font is under the SIL license so you may copy it and use it as you will but I would like to put a couple of caveats on that. If you are going to make changes to the font I would be grateful if you could rename it to something other than 'Kelvinch'. If you are going to make additions to the font I would be grateful if you could send me a copy, other than that do what you like with it.

This font started out as a Font Forge project but then migrated to Font Creator. Basically I took the Gentium font and altered it (it is now considerably different to Gentium). It was better than starting with a blank canvas.

Many thanks to Bhikkhu Pesala for his example font in Font Creator. The estimated symbol and the musical sharp, flat and natural symbols plus a few others have served as the prototypes for the ones in Kelvinch.

Are there any glaring omissions, characters which ought to be included?

Any comments or advice will be gratfully accepted.

Regards

Paul.
Last edited by PJMiller on Sun Sep 13, 2015 5:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Alfred
Top Typographer
Top Typographer

Re: Kelvinch - a font for body text.

Post by Alfred »