Some MTPro V8.0.0.1124 64Bit questions--Glyphs and "Library"

Get help with MainType here. Please do not post feature requests or bug reports here.
Hitch

Some MTPro V8.0.0.1124 64Bit questions--Glyphs and "Library"

Post by Hitch »

Hi:

I've been a MT Pro user for a few years now, and just upgraded to 8. (I run multiple font managers, for a variety of reasons, but mostly because I can't seem to find ONE that gives me everything I want. The others are SuitcaseFusion and Typograf, and one that I think I've actually forgotten, now. I'm rather attached to Typograf's font information, that you can't get with either SF or with MT, e.g., font size information, etc., which is critical when working on eBooks.)

Perhaps I'm misremembering this, but in the new manual for 8, p. 22, it says to display all glyphs, "click the left "G" button on the Toolbar." Hunh? What "left G" button on the toolbar? Didn't this used to be a menu option, or am I thinking of FS? And, regardless, where is the mystical "left G" button, please?

Second stupid question: I've tried the Tutorials, the manual, etc, and maybe I missed it, but how, exactly, is the Library created and calculated? The manual states, in the "Predefined Views," (p. 11) that the Library "Entire list of all fonts in your library," which is hardly helpful. Is "the Library" the sum of your Groups? (That seems to certainly NOT be it.) How can I see exactly which folders, either virtual or real (so to speak) comprise the Library? I have more fonts than are displayed, numbers-wise, and I do not see fonts, in my Library, that I know are in my master fonts folder. Thus, it does not seem to be the sum total of my master font collection folder (which is in a Dropbox.)