Page 1 of 2

Cannot add/delete/modify text sample ??

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 8:09 am
by davidchen
Hi there,

I just found this powerful font manager days ago and have been playing with the free edition recently. Most of the functions are ok except one thing that I am not sure if it is a bug or not. I simply cannot add/delete/modify any "text sample", from the Tools > Options dialog. There is no error message of any kind when I do the change, but once I close the dialog and reopen it, my change is gone completely and only those default text samples are still there.

tmp.png
tmp.png (11.36 KiB) Viewed 3347 times

In comparison, I can easily change the "preview text" without any problem from the Tools > Options dialog.
Is there anyone can help?

Many thanks,
David ...

Re: Cannot add/delete/modify text sample ??

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 8:17 am
by Bhikkhu Pesala
Click on "Apply".

Re: Cannot add/delete/modify text sample ??

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 8:41 am
by davidchen
Hi, thanks for your prompt reply.

Sure I tried that before. "Apply", "OK", etc.
I even tried to start MainType using "Run as administrator" (I am running Win 10) ...
Well, result is the same.
Strangely, changing "preview texts" is ok, like I said.

Thanks,
David ...

Re: Cannot add/delete/modify text sample ??

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 8:47 am
by Bhikkhu Pesala
If preview text is working, then the sample text should too. No problem here...
Test Sample.png
Test Sample.png (1.91 KiB) Viewed 3338 times

Re: Cannot add/delete/modify text sample ??

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 8:58 am
by davidchen
Hi,

I understand, and I do consider both of them are similar ...
But that is what I see on my pc, and I don't know how to explain it :(

Is there any logfile or something like that ??
Or could I manually change the text sample from any config file ??

Thanks,
David ...

Re: Cannot add/delete/modify text sample ??

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 9:21 am
by Bhikkhu Pesala
Try checking for updates.

I could not find any configuration files or Windows registry options for this.

Re: Cannot add/delete/modify text sample ??

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 10:39 am
by Erwin Denissen
It should always work, so I don't know what goes wrong.

I assume you are running version 8, so I'll contact you to see if we can solve this issue.

Re: Cannot add/delete/modify text sample ??

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 12:04 pm
by davidchen
Hi,

Nice to hear that. I am running MainType 8 on Win 10.
Just let me know if you need any info or details.

Many thanks,
David ...

Re: Cannot add/delete/modify text sample ??

Posted: Tue Oct 13, 2020 2:14 pm
by xyz
+1

Me too. Just paid my - not trivial - fee for this tool and now I want to create a custom sample text for a minority language.

The window lets me work my sample text, but nothing gets stored. All my work just lost every time I try. This is a bad bug.

Re: Cannot add/delete/modify text sample ??

Posted: Tue Oct 13, 2020 3:12 pm
by Erwin Denissen
Can you add a basic sample text like:
Test

Re: Cannot add/delete/modify text sample ??

Posted: Tue Oct 13, 2020 4:00 pm
by Bhikkhu Pesala
Please paste the desired sample text to a forum post so that we can test it.

Re: Cannot add/delete/modify text sample ??

Posted: Tue Oct 13, 2020 8:08 pm
by xyz
On my installation, no sample has worked so far. I can type anything I want into the box, but upon "OK" or "Apply" it never gets saved or applied.

If you want a sample try this:

===
Heinz Zaske. agkec ilI bongo
===

If you want a real example - also not working, try this:

===
ɖƉ ŋŊ ǝƎ ɛƐ ɩƖ ɔƆ ʊƱ á à â aŋɛɛma
===

Re: Cannot add/delete/modify text sample ??

Posted: Tue Oct 13, 2020 8:13 pm
by Erwin Denissen
It works just fine here, so it is hard to find a solution if we can not reproduce the issue. We will contact you to see if we can further look into it.

Re: Cannot add/delete/modify text sample ??

Posted: Tue Oct 13, 2020 8:17 pm
by xyz
What is your Windows version please?

Mine is Version 1909 build 18363.1082

Re: Cannot add/delete/modify text sample ??

Posted: Tue Oct 13, 2020 8:21 pm
by xyz
Erwin Denissen wrote: Tue Oct 13, 2020 8:13 pm It works just fine here, so it is hard to find a solution if we can not reproduce the issue. We will contact you to see if we can further look into it.
Where are those default sample texts stored?

And where would my custom sample texts be stored by MainType?

My setup is such that all my Windows and all programs are on a SSD on C:\ and all my documents are on a large HDD on D:\ which is a perfectly legal way of running things, and all my other programs cope fine. Just wondering whether MaintType is making a "wrong assumption"...