I Can't Make Snap To Grid Work

Get help with FontCreator here. Please do not post feature requests or bug reports here.
Post Reply
The Martian
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2021 4:18 am

I Can't Make Snap To Grid Work

Post by The Martian »

Greetings forum members,

I have just started playing with the trial version of FontCreator 13.0 under Windows 7.
The program appears excellent but I cannot make "snap to grid" work. The button is pushed in on the toolbar and is checked on the view menu.
  • I can lay down contour points but they land wherever the mouse is and do not snap to grid.
  • I can make a triangle and drag it around but it does not snap to grid.
Does anyone have any idea why it doesn't work for me?
Erwin Denissen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10025
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 12:41 am
Location: Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: I Can't Make Snap To Grid Work

Post by Erwin Denissen »

FontCreator 13 will only snap points when you move them with the mouse. The upcoming version 14 will have many improvements.
Erwin Denissen
High-Logic
Proven Font Technology
The Martian
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2021 4:18 am

Re: I Can't Make Snap To Grid Work

Post by The Martian »

I am moving things around with the mouse. They don't snap.
Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 9326
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:28 am
Location: Seven Kings, London UK
Contact:

Re: I Can't Make Snap To Grid Work

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala »

The Martian wrote: Tue Jun 22, 2021 12:15 pm I am moving things around with the mouse. They don't snap.
This works for me in FontCreator 13.0.0.2683. Have you enabled the Grid and Snap to Grid?

Contours should snap to the grid, and nodes should snap to the grid when moved in points mode. When drawing a new contour, the first point does not snap to the grid, but other points do.
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC14 Pro + MT11.0 @ Win 10 64-bit 2004 build 19042.1110
The Martian
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2021 4:18 am

Re: I Can't Make Snap To Grid Work

Post by The Martian »

Here is a grid. I'm in points mode. Snap to grid is selected.
As you can see, none of the points are on the grid.
Doesn't snap.png
Doesn't snap.png (41 KiB) Viewed 221 times
Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 9326
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:28 am
Location: Seven Kings, London UK
Contact:

Re: I Can't Make Snap To Grid Work

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala »

The points are far away from the grid lines. The snapping distance is only about 5 pixels.
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC14 Pro + MT11.0 @ Win 10 64-bit 2004 build 19042.1110
Erwin Denissen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10025
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 12:41 am
Location: Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: I Can't Make Snap To Grid Work

Post by Erwin Denissen »

The Martian wrote: Tue Jun 22, 2021 11:08 pm Here is a grid. I'm in points mode. Snap to grid is selected.
As you can see, none of the points are on the grid.
Snap to grid will only snap while moving points. There is not way to just click a "Round to Grid" button, which I can image could be useful.
Erwin Denissen
High-Logic
Proven Font Technology
The Martian
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2021 4:18 am

Re: I Can't Make Snap To Grid Work

Post by The Martian »

5 pixel snapping distance is not of any use.

Here is FontLab showing how it should be done.
Does snap.png
Does snap.png (69.97 KiB) Viewed 213 times
I don't want to use FontLab as is too expensive, but I do require a proper snap to grid, regardless of how far the point may be from the grid.
Post Reply