Help with Font Modification

Get help with FontCreator here. Please do not post feature requests or bug reports here.
dwr

Help with Font Modification

Post by dwr »

I am new to font editing and FCP, so I'm throwing myself on the mercy of other users to get pointed in the right direction ...

We use a slightly modified copy of the standard Windows Arial true type font on our NT system (the slight modification being a new character that was added with FCP) - no problems.

However, we have had user complaints about discerning the 6 and the 8 (neither is modified), and are looking into changing the 6 to shorten the "hook" (sorry for not knowing font terminology) at the top to make it more distinct from the 8.

When I modify the font in point mode (even if I only move one point on the glyph), the 6 looks awful. I'm viewing in MS Word at 11 point size. The change I've made is reflected, but the circle at the bottom of the 6 changes & becomes "blotchy" - it is very narrow on the top and bottom, but regular thickness on the sides. It also seems to cut off the bottom few pixels, leaving a flat bottom.

I'm assuming that I'm ignorant of some basic thing that needs to be done here, and I'm hoping that someone can get me pointed in the right direction. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks
Dale
Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer

Modifying Arial

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala »

:idea: While you could very easily modify Arial and get the results that you want using Font Creator, a more sensible solution might be to use Tahoma instead. If I remember rightly, this font was designed with on-screen legibility in mind. The requirements for printed text and display on low resolution devices are different.