Open Type Question

Get help with FontCreator here. Please do not post feature requests or bug reports here.
heathert

Open Type Question

Post by heathert »

I'm making a new font which has several very open characters (i, j, r) in particular. I'm working in Illustrator, and have made all the joined characters that I need ("ra", "ir", etc.). With Font Creator 7, are these considered ligatures (and if so, how do I define the new ligature characters), or new glyphs? I know I'll have to learn the scripting, but I also read that some features of Open Type aren't supported--I just don't know what procedure I need to follow. This is my first try at Open Type--yikes! I'd appreciate any pointers to tutorials, if you know of any, also. Thanks!
Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer

Re: Open Type Question

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala »

Are you're using the Home Edition or the Standard / Professional Edition? If the former, then see Adding OpenType Features tutorial. If the latter, then use FontCreator's built-in OpenType Layout Features editor.

If your font is designed so that these ligatures should be used by default, use the rlig (required ligature) feature. If you want the user to decide whether to use them, then use the liga (StandardLigatures) or dlig (DiscretionaryLigatures) features instead.

The ligatures must be defined as new glyphs, so add three more glyphs, import the outlines from Illustrator, resize them to the right height, then use the Glyph Properties toolbar (F3) to rename the ligature glyphs to ir, jr, ra, etc., and click Apply. They don't need to be mapped since they will only be used by applications that support OpenType features.

Open the OpenType Layout Features editor from the Font menu:

Caut and paste the code below to add the appropriate glyph substitutions:

Code: Select all

script latn {
  feature RequiredLigatures;
}

feature RequiredLigatures rlig {
  lookup RequiredLigatures;
}

lookup RequiredLigatures {
  sub i r -> ir;