Can't get composite glyphs to work...

Get help with FontCreator here. Please do not post feature requests or bug reports here.
OregonPete

Can't get composite glyphs to work...

Post by OregonPete »

Hi guys! :D

I downloaded Font Creator 4.1 a few days ago and think you're doing a terrific job. It was the only font creation software I could find on the net that was inexpensive enough for normal people like me to purchase ;-).

Let me explain what I'm doing and then explain my problem:

I'm a writer (that is, next to my daytime job *g*) and my first novel, The Traveler, Book One, will be out some time next spring (yes, alright, I know this is cheap advertising. Sorry guys! ;-) ). The Traveler is a fantasy / science-fiction series which is set partly on Earth and partly on a planet called Piral. For this series I have created a completely new language, called Selanian, and I am now attempting to create a font to go with the language.

The font runs from right to left, like Arabic and Hebrew. That in itself isn't a problem, since I have the language support on my system (Windows XP) and my Word version can handle that. What is a problem, though, is that all vowels are formed by diacritical markings over the consonants.

So what I want to happen, is if I press a 'b' and then an 'a', I want the system to wait with the 'b' and then print the composite glyph 'ba'. Does that sound at all feasible?

Well, anyway, I can't get it to work. I have no idea how things with code pages and mappings and so work, so it's very possible that I'm just getting the whole thing wrong.

Can anyone help me with this?

Thanks a bunch and have a great day

Peter
OregonPete

More information...

Post by OregonPete »

Hmmm... Maybe I should give you some more info on what I've already done.