The Insert Free Draw Contours facility

Get help with FontCreator here. Please do not post feature requests or bug reports here.
Post Reply
William
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 1956
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 6:41 pm
Location: Worcestershire, England
Contact:

The Insert Free Draw Contours facility

Post by William » Thu May 04, 2017 12:03 pm

I am using FontCreator 8.0.

----

There is the Tools Import Image... facility.

When doing that one can choose various options, including threshold level and a smooth filter.

----

There is the facility to paste an image from the clipboard and contours are generated by FontCreator.

I have found in the manual:

Check the Default field to save the current settings as the default for each new import. These settings are also used when pasting an image from the clipboard. Choosing to press the Cancel button will retain these default settings.

----

I happened to find Insert Free Draw Contours... this morning.

When the Convert to contours button is clicked, are those settings from Import Image... used when generating the contours please?

William Overington

Thursday 4 May 2017

Erwin Denissen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6644
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 12:41 am
Location: De Bilt, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: The Insert Free Draw Contours facility

Post by Erwin Denissen » Thu May 04, 2017 12:17 pm

William wrote:When the Convert to contours button is clicked, are those settings from Import Image... used when generating the contours please?
No, it uses some default settings which can't be changed.
Erwin Denissen
High-Logic
Proven Font Technology

William
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 1956
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 6:41 pm
Location: Worcestershire, England
Contact:

Re: The Insert Free Draw Contours facility

Post by William » Thu May 04, 2017 12:19 pm

Thank you for your prompt and helpful reply.

William
Last edited by William on Thu May 04, 2017 12:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 6901
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:28 am
Location: Seven Kings, London UK
Contact:

Re: The Insert Free Draw Contours facility

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala » Thu May 04, 2017 12:22 pm

The Free Draw only does black, so threshold is irrelevant.

I see no effect from changing the smoothing from none to super smooth, or trace to pixel.

You're probably better off using DrawPlus to draw in, and pasting the result into FontCreator.

FontCreator 11 will have better tools for drawing curves.
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC11.0 Pro + MT7.0 @ Win10 1703

William
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 1956
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 6:41 pm
Location: Worcestershire, England
Contact:

Re: The Insert Free Draw Contours facility

Post by William » Thu May 04, 2017 12:25 pm

Thank you for replying and for having tried some tests and thank you for your advice.

William

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest