Nutso font doesn’t work correctly

Get help with FontCreator here. Please do not post feature requests or bug reports here.
deaneau

Nutso font doesn’t work correctly

Post by deaneau »

In Adobe Products the Nutso font doesn’t work correctly. Only Affinity Designer does it right.

Is there a solution that will work in all Programs?

When I look at this font with the OpenType Designer I don't understand what I see there.

Thank you in advance
Dean

P.S. I'm a beginner in Font Design

Last edited by Bhikkhu Pesala on Sun Nov 25, 2018 10:17 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Split old topic to new thread
Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer

Re: Nutso font doesn’t work correctly

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala »

The stacking fractions feature is much simpler if one uses precomposed fractions.

I could not open a copy of the Nutso font to see how it's done, but I assume that it is still experimental.

This is how my alternative fractions feature is designed in Pali:
Alternative Fractions.png
Alternative Fractions.png (77.02 KiB) Viewed 7831 times
The fractions feature is more complex, but will work with any denominator or numerator as the divisor does not need to change.
Fraction Feature.png
Fraction Feature.png (9.16 KiB) Viewed 7831 times
Bottom Line: Among those few users who need stacking fractions with unlimited numerators and denominators how many would expect to use OpenType features for this, and how many would just use an equation editor? Is it really worth the effort needed to implement this to work on most applications.
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC15 + MT12.0 @ Win 10 64-bit build 19045.2486
deaneau

Post by deaneau »

hi,
yes this is the easy way however not really flexible.

in the pic, you can see how you can download. is a little bit tricky ;-)
download zip
inside the zip, you can see different versions of

Nutso is only a font with Numbers etc.