Multiple instances ?

Get help with FontCreator here. Please do not post feature requests or bug reports here.
Post Reply
PJMiller
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 739
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 8:12 pm
Location: Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Contact:

Multiple instances ?

Post by PJMiller » Wed May 08, 2019 10:49 am

Are there any problems which might be caused by having two instances of Font Creator running at the same time ?

I have had two instances of Font Creator running at the same time with different font projects open in each and it caused no apparent problems but I just thought I would check just to be sure there wasn't something going wrong which wasn't apparent.

Erwin Denissen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8183
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 12:41 am
Location: Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Multiple instances ?

Post by Erwin Denissen » Wed May 08, 2019 11:03 am

That is fine, but remember the last one you close will store settings, like form position but also recently opened files, as last, and those will be used next time you run the software.
Erwin Denissen
High-Logic
Proven Font Technology

Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 8236
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:28 am
Location: Seven Kings, London UK
Contact:

Re: Multiple instances ?

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala » Wed May 08, 2019 11:30 am

I have installed FontCreator 12 using WinKey+R to run the command:

Code: Select all

"%UserProfile%\Downloads\FontCreatorSetup-x64.exe" /DIR="C:\Program Files\High-Logic FontCreator 12"
The User Data Folder is FontCreator12 so it does not conflict with the User Data Folder for FontCreator 11.5.

While I iron out the bugs in my latest fonts, it is useful to be able to load the previous version in 11.5, e.g. to copy/paste lookups tables to FontCreator 12.
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC12 Pro + MT8.0 @ Win10 1809 build 17763.557

Post Reply