Strikeout and Underline Position

Get help with FontCreator here. Please do not post feature requests or bug reports here.
Post Reply
Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 7161
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:28 am
Location: Seven Kings, London UK
Contact:

Strikeout and Underline Position

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala » Sat Feb 05, 2005 4:34 pm

I'm puzzled by these parameters on the Settings General and Post tabs.
For one font (technical) it seems to work as expected, but for the other (Elemntary) it does not.

This is how I calculated underline position and width for each font:
I selected the underline glyph (95) and from the Transform toolbar noted the vertical offset to the top of the glyph which was -129 for Elementary. Then I noted the vertical height of the glyph, also 129 funits for Elementary. I entered these on the Post tab for Underline Position and Thickness.

To calculate the strikeout position and size, I use the horizontal stroke of the lowercase e as my measuring point. The vertical offset to the top of the stroke of the e was 609 funits, and the thickness of the stroke was 135 funits. This is what I entered for the strikeout position and thickness.

Following the same procedure for Technical seemed to work, i.e. it moved the strikeout and underlining to the correct positions. However, it did not work for Elementary.

The central underlining stroke ._. uses the underline glyph, the other underlining and strikeout use text formatting in Jarte - a Wordpad clone.

Was my methodology correct?
Last edited by Bhikkhu Pesala on Sat Feb 05, 2005 7:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC11.0 Pro + MT7.0 @ Win10 1709

Erwin Denissen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7003
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 12:41 am
Location: De Bilt, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Erwin Denissen » Sat Feb 05, 2005 4:40 pm

These are suggested values, some word processors use them, some don't. You should contact the supplier of your word processor to find out if they support these values.
Erwin Denissen
High-Logic
Proven Font Technology

Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 7161
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:28 am
Location: Seven Kings, London UK
Contact:

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala » Sat Feb 05, 2005 5:26 pm

No need to contact them, as Jarte clearly does support these values. Changing the underline position for technical and elementary both to zero had no effect on the elementary font, but did move the position for technical.

What could be the reason that the Elementary font behaves differently?
Could it perhaps be something to do with hinting or other tables? Elementary has been rehinted for me in Fontlab by a friend. Technical has not yet been rehinted.
Last edited by Bhikkhu Pesala on Sat Feb 05, 2005 5:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC11.0 Pro + MT7.0 @ Win10 1709

Erwin Denissen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7003
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 12:41 am
Location: De Bilt, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Erwin Denissen » Sat Feb 05, 2005 5:31 pm

What happens when you change the font name and try again?

If that doesn't help, please send both files to me and I'll look into it.
Erwin Denissen
High-Logic
Proven Font Technology

Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 7161
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:28 am
Location: Seven Kings, London UK
Contact:

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala » Sat Feb 05, 2005 5:40 pm

That fixed it. :)
Last edited by Bhikkhu Pesala on Sat Feb 05, 2005 5:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC11.0 Pro + MT7.0 @ Win10 1709

Erwin Denissen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7003
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 12:41 am
Location: De Bilt, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Erwin Denissen » Sat Feb 05, 2005 5:47 pm

I'm glad the solution was that simple, but I wonder what caused the problem. I think either your operating system or the word processor cached the value. You might be able to locate the actual cause through a reboot...
Erwin Denissen
High-Logic
Proven Font Technology

Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 7161
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:28 am
Location: Seven Kings, London UK
Contact:

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala » Sat Feb 05, 2005 5:51 pm

That was not it. I already tried reloading the wordprocessor, and reinstalling the fonts, rebooting, etc. I have used the same font names and the same font file names as before - just using auto-rename and reinstalling the fonts seemed to fix it without rebooting.

Edited: No longer relevant.
Last edited by Bhikkhu Pesala on Sat Feb 05, 2005 7:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC11.0 Pro + MT7.0 @ Win10 1709

Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 7161
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:28 am
Location: Seven Kings, London UK
Contact:

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala » Sat Feb 05, 2005 6:12 pm

Now fixed my Garland font too, entering appropriate different values for each typestyle.
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC11.0 Pro + MT7.0 @ Win10 1709

Erwin Denissen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7003
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 12:41 am
Location: De Bilt, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Erwin Denissen » Sat Feb 05, 2005 6:59 pm

I'm still curious how a non-broken font can be fixed through the AutoNaming wizard. Did you give the font a new name or did you use the original name during the AutoNaming process?
Erwin Denissen
High-Logic
Proven Font Technology

Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 7161
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:28 am
Location: Seven Kings, London UK
Contact:

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala » Sat Feb 05, 2005 7:06 pm

First I named it "Elemental", tested it and it worked. Then I renamed it as Elementary, and it still worked. You can try with my faulty font if you like.

Hmm. :? Now working alright without renaming. Maybe just a question of uninstalling and reinstalling properly. Perhaps I was editing the Rehinted font, but reinstalling the unhinted font. :oops:
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC11.0 Pro + MT7.0 @ Win10 1709

Erwin Denissen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7003
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 12:41 am
Location: De Bilt, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Erwin Denissen » Sat Feb 05, 2005 7:26 pm

This is a common mistake, but hard to find.

Do you install your modified font through Font Creator?
Erwin Denissen
High-Logic
Proven Font Technology

Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 7161
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:28 am
Location: Seven Kings, London UK
Contact:

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala » Sat Feb 05, 2005 7:34 pm

No. I always work from the font folder, and sort by date to delete the most recent fonts before reinstalling.
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC11.0 Pro + MT7.0 @ Win10 1709

Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 7161
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:28 am
Location: Seven Kings, London UK
Contact:

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala » Sat Feb 05, 2005 11:50 pm

:roll: Hey, guess what?

One can test the strikeout and underline position in the Test Window.

Now why didn't I notice that before? :shock:
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC11.0 Pro + MT7.0 @ Win10 1709

Siavash
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 4:41 pm

Re: Strikeout and Underline Position

Post by Siavash » Wed Nov 08, 2017 9:24 pm

Hi,

Could you please confirm that these values doesn't work in Adobe programs or not? I have tested and apparently Adobe does in its own way.

Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 7161
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:28 am
Location: Seven Kings, London UK
Contact:

Re: Strikeout and Underline Position

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala » Wed Nov 08, 2017 10:40 pm

Siavash wrote:
Wed Nov 08, 2017 9:24 pm
Could you please confirm that these values doesn't work in Adobe programs or not? I have tested and apparently Adobe does in its own way.
Apparently, you have found your own answer. The InDesign or PhotoShop forums would be the place to get a definitive statement. Perhaps they have a way to change the underlining size and position. It is decades since I used Adobe Pagemaker.
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC11.0 Pro + MT7.0 @ Win10 1709

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest