Grouping letters so the parts don't move separately?

Get help with FontCreator here. Please do not post feature requests or bug reports here.
lforbes

Grouping letters so the parts don't move separately?

Post by lforbes »

Hi,

I am a newbie to Font Creator but I have designed in other font programs like Font Forge for years.

In Font Creator it seems to "lose" the compound path or group when I import my letters. So for example the "middle" of the 0 becomes separate from the outside.

This gets very problematic when re-sizing or moving the glyphs because I cannot just click on the glyph, I have to drag select to select all of it.

It also makes it impossible to align a glyph because when you click align it aligns each piece separately rather than the group

I have gone through all the icons in the toolbar and cannot find the "Group" nor can I find it in the menu?

Does anyone know how to group the glyph parts so they can be moved/resized as one without having to drag select?
Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer

Re: Grouping letters so the parts don't move separately?

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala »

Some letters, like C, E, or F usually consist of a single contour. Others, like A, D, and O consist or two contours, while some have three or more contours, e.g. B or 8.

Select all contours with Ctrl+A to move them all together. There is no way to group them permanently.

Align will then align the contours with the largest contour.
Selected Contours.png
Selected Contours.png (22.08 KiB) Viewed 2996 times
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC15 + MT12.0 @ Win 10 64-bit build 19045.2486
lforbes

Post by lforbes »

So can they add a group option to the software?

If say you have a glyph that has multiple contours in multiple pieces there is no way to align the pieces without messing up the inner contours.

I make fonts with a lot of loops and flourishes and it would be nice to click the glyph piece and have it behave as one piece not multiple pieces.