Page 1 of 1

× Auto Backup Before Performing Transformations

Posted: Mon Feb 25, 2013 4:35 pm
by SteveMB
In general, you probably want to make an extra backup copy of the file before doing something you can't undo.

(Actually, an option to create a pre-transform backup copy of the file might be a good option to add to the "This operation cannot be undone - Are you sure you want to do this?" screen.)

Re: Auto Backup Before Performing Transformations

Posted: Mon Feb 25, 2013 7:28 pm
by Bhikkhu Pesala
I got into the habit of saving the file before performing transformations, but I agree it would be better to offer the option to the user along with the warning.

Providing an undo option has been requested before, of course, but it could cause problems with memory requirements on large fonts. Please see this earlier post and the following one by Erwin.

I would be happy with an autosave feature in case I forget.

Re: × Auto Backup Before Performing Transformations

Posted: Wed May 08, 2019 1:27 pm
by Bhikkhu Pesala
In FontCreator 12, undo is now supported for glyph transformations, so backup is no longer required.