filtered selection, not actually selected for shift-click?

Post your bug reports here. Include information that helps us to understand and reproduce the bug.
Post Reply
Bmeister
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2018 1:24 am

filtered selection, not actually selected for shift-click?

Post by Bmeister » Sun Oct 11, 2020 4:51 am

Hello again,

When adding members to a class, it seems that filtering a selection does indeed hard-select that single member, and makes adding it simple. However, if your intention is to shift click a group of members, then that filtered selection needs to be hard-clicked (reselected) prior to shift clicking; even if it appears already selected. Is this by design? It seems a little confusing.

As you can see from the gif below, my first click onto the last glyph was actually a shift-click. I had to reselect the left glyph for shift-click to work properly.

class member filtered selection.gif
class member filtered selection.gif (704.29 KiB) Viewed 335 times
Font Creator 13
Windows 7 and 10 Pro

Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 8932
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:28 am
Location: Seven Kings, London UK
Contact:

Re: filtered selection, not actually selected for shift-click?

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala » Sun Oct 11, 2020 6:00 am

I would say that it is a bug, and it happens whether one filters the list or not.

Start by left-clicking the first glyph, then shift+clicking the last glyph, then it works OK.
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC13 Pro + MT10.0 @ Win10 1909 build 18363.1082

Erwin Denissen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9015
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 12:41 am
Location: Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: filtered selection, not actually selected for shift-click?

Post by Erwin Denissen » Sun Oct 11, 2020 11:23 am

Yes, definitely a bug. It will be fixed with the next upcoming major release.
Erwin Denissen
High-Logic
Proven Font Technology

Post Reply