Is it possible to directly replace a system font with a revised font?

Get help with FontCreator here. Please do not post feature requests or bug reports here.
Post Reply
beachboybogart
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2020 4:46 pm

Is it possible to directly replace a system font with a revised font?

Post by beachboybogart » Thu Jan 16, 2020 4:50 pm

I'm a novice and haven't quite figured out the Project thing yet. But I am wondering if it possible to directly save or replace a system font with a revision I've made using FontCreator. (I've changed the number "1" in a font to make it larger and easier to read on screen.)

Sorry if this has been asked, but several searches produced no associated results. ... Mike

Erwin Denissen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8828
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 12:41 am
Location: Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to directly replace a system font with a revised font?

Post by Erwin Denissen » Thu Jan 16, 2020 7:40 pm

A system font is most likely locked by Windows and therefor can't be easily replaced. There is obviously a reason why it isn't easy, as it can really mess up your system.

I haven't tried it myself, but it seems people have managed to do it:
How to change the default system font on Windows 10

Good luck, and don't blame us if it ruins your system.
Erwin Denissen
High-Logic
Proven Font Technology

PJMiller
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 776
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 8:12 pm
Location: Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to directly replace a system font with a revised font?

Post by PJMiller » Fri Jan 17, 2020 10:55 am

I recently did this, using a similar method to the one in the guide pointed to by Erwin, replacing the system font with my Cadman font. It had mixed results and eventually I changed things back.

Replacing the system font is all very well but it became apparent that there are many places where Windows 10 assumes the size and spacing of the system font so doesn't bother to check. This is just sloppy programming by Microsoft but I suppose making these assumptions might speed things up very slightly. In Windows 7 you could change the font being used for many UI elements so it adjusted everything to fit the font being used.

This means that when you substitute a different set of fonts how well they work will depend on how similar they are to the Segoe UI family of fonts. Not similar in terms of the design of the characters but similar in terms of the size of the characters (units per em), Line gap, Win Ascent, Win Descent and other metrics associated with the font.

If you are going to do this then make a backup of the Segoe UI family of system fonts before doing anything, trust me on this, when you end up wanting to change things back you will need this.

beachboybogart
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2020 4:46 pm

Re: Is it possible to directly replace an installed font with a revised font?

Post by beachboybogart » Mon Jan 20, 2020 2:54 pm

Thanks for the responses.

I see my question was poorly worded. I should have said "installed" font. My apologies. This is about process.
A user can open an installed font, but cannot save that font directly. It has to be saved as a Project, or exported, as far as I can tell.

Post Reply