Group loading - Install with prefix

Got a request? Post it here. Please do not post bug reports here.
Post Reply
Wombat
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 7:34 am

Group loading - Install with prefix

Post by Wombat » Mon Jan 23, 2006 10:08 am

Is this possible

Would like to be able to define prefix for group.
Say I have a group named Classic fonts, set prefix as 'cf'.
Load the font group Classic fonts with Maintype
Now to use my Classic fonts from any program I just go to change font menu and there they are listed all together at cf....., beautiful, no more scrolling down whole list to find individual members of group.

Sigi

Erwin Denissen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8287
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 12:41 am
Location: Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Erwin Denissen » Mon Jan 23, 2006 11:48 am

Hi Sigi,

That would be awesome, but unfortunately it isn't possible. Windows uses naming fields located in the font files (although possible, I don't recommend changing them). There is no way to change Windows font management.
Erwin Denissen
High-Logic
Proven Font Technology

Wombat
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 7:34 am

Post by Wombat » Wed Jan 25, 2006 11:28 am

G'day Erwin thanks for quick reply

Not possible, ah well, lets see if we can use MainType to access fonts within a group

If we are in a graphics program select text to edit
Go to title bar where there is a button for MainType, press
Passes selected text to Sample window in Maintype
Select the desired group
Scroll thru fonts ( viewing all text instead of few letters )
Select desired font, double click passes new font to original program

Sigi

Post Reply