The problem is that diacritical marks appear in the lookup(Output).

Post your bug reports here. Include information that helps us to understand and reproduce the bug.
Post Reply
abo3bdo.sy
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2023 3:17 pm

The problem is that diacritical marks appear in the lookup(Output).

Post by abo3bdo.sy »

The problem is that diacritical marks appear in the lookup(Output).

as clearly seen in the image:
‏‏new.png
‏‏new.png (215.69 KiB) Viewed 1173 times
I have selected "ignore marks" to disregard the marks and display the lookup(Output).
However, if I write the text with diacritical marks, they appear alongside the lookup(Output). If I don't include them, the display is correct.

I know you have a suggestion, which is to provide two patterns: one with diacritical marks and the other without. However, as you can see, the number of characters in the input is 10. This means you would need to provide 1000 different inputs with various positions of diacritical marks to cover all possibilities, and this is completely impractical and not a viable solution.

What I want is that if the text contains diacritical marks, I do not want the marks to appear in the lookup(Output).
Erwin Denissen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11080
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 12:41 am
Location: Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: The problem is that diacritical marks appear in the lookup(Output).

Post by Erwin Denissen »

Ignore marks does not hide or remove them.

I don't know what approach is best. How do other fonts get rid of the marks?
Erwin Denissen
High-Logic
Proven Font Technology
abo3bdo.sy
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2023 3:17 pm

Re: The problem is that diacritical marks appear in the lookup(Output).

Post by abo3bdo.sy »

Ignore Marks is an option that, if selected, will ignore marks in the external text, and Output will appear whether you write the external text with or without marks.
Post Reply