Font name doesn't show

Get help with FontCreator here. Please do not post feature requests or bug reports here.
Post Reply
Joop Jagers
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2003 9:46 pm

Font name doesn't show

Post by Joop Jagers » Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:13 pm

I've finished working on a font which, unfortunately, doesn't show its name in the font drop down list in Word 2003. Remarkably, once chosen the font shows the correct name. It also shows up in font lists in other programs. Any idea if the problem is in the font or could it be an error in Word?

Erwin Denissen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8298
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 12:41 am
Location: Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Erwin Denissen » Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:38 pm

Erwin Denissen
High-Logic
Proven Font Technology

Joop Jagers
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2003 9:46 pm

Post by Joop Jagers » Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:00 pm

I'm afraid this post doesn't help. I *did* delete the FNTCACHE.DAT file, but after a reboot the font still refuses to show its identity. I'm pretty sure the font is OK, as the name can be seen in other applications like WordPad, Publisher, PopChar, and MainType. What can be the problem?

Erwin Denissen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8298
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 12:41 am
Location: Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Erwin Denissen » Mon Dec 18, 2006 6:41 am

Hi Joop,

Can you send a copy of the specific font directly to me? I'll see if I can identify your problem.
Erwin Denissen
High-Logic
Proven Font Technology

Erwin Denissen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8298
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 12:41 am
Location: Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Erwin Denissen » Tue Dec 19, 2006 9:00 am

Hi Joop,

Thanks for sending the font file. I've installed it and I see no problems, as shown below.

Image

One way to find out if this is due to a hiccup in Windows, is to open the font in FontCreator and then test the font by selecting Test in the Font menu. This will temporarily install the font. The name of the temporarily installed font looks like "FC Test Font 12345". So while the Test Font window is open, you will be able to check if the "test font" is shown in Word's font drop down list.

Note: When you open the Test Font window again you'll have to change the font's name in the application, because the temporary font name always changes.

Image

Do let us know your results with the font test feature.
Erwin Denissen
High-Logic
Proven Font Technology

Joop Jagers
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2003 9:46 pm

Post by Joop Jagers » Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:06 pm

Strange! After temporarily installing the font it shows its FC Test Font ##### name. After installing it properly the real name is invisible again. The how and why is beyond me.
Anyhow, thanks for looking into this problem so promptly!

Erwin Denissen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8298
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 12:41 am
Location: Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Erwin Denissen » Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:34 pm

Hi Joop,

Good to know this is not a bug in FontCreator.

Maybe there are duplicates of the font in the Windows Fonts folder. Please use MainType to browse to that folder and see if this is true.
Erwin Denissen
High-Logic
Proven Font Technology

MFM
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 12:33 am
Location: Avon, CT USA

List font names in their font - Blank Previews

Post by MFM » Thu Jan 04, 2007 12:42 am

I narrowed the problem down to a temporary file Microsoft Office creates to cache the previews, “fbc*.tmp” located in C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Application Data\Microsoft\Office\. I deleted this file, restarted Word, and now the previews display correctly.

FWIW,

MFM

Erwin Denissen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8298
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 12:41 am
Location: Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Erwin Denissen » Thu Jan 04, 2007 8:06 am

Thanks for this useful information! I hope this solves Joops problem too.
Erwin Denissen
High-Logic
Proven Font Technology

Joop Jagers
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2003 9:46 pm

Post by Joop Jagers » Thu Jan 04, 2007 8:13 am

It does! Thank you very much! How on earth did you find the fbc*.tmp file?

MFM
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 12:33 am
Location: Avon, CT USA

fbc*.tmp file

Post by MFM » Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:18 pm

How on earth did you find the fbc*.tmp file?
I installed a new font, displayed the new preview in the Word font menu pull-down, then immediately performed a search on drive c for all files created today and sorted the results list by Date Modified. The fbc file was right at the top. :wink:

MFM

Joop Jagers
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2003 9:46 pm

Post by Joop Jagers » Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:36 pm

Hats off, Gentlemen! A genius!

How simple, and yet how beautiful!

Thanks!

highwaykind
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 11:54 am
Location: NL
Contact:

Post by highwaykind » Fri Jun 29, 2007 7:58 am

Same problem - will try this fix, thanks!!

AndyL
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 1:15 pm
Location: London, UK

Post by AndyL » Thu Apr 17, 2008 3:51 pm

Had exactly the same problem, but deleting my “fbc*.tmp” file resolved the issue.

Thank you :D

Andy

Post Reply