Czech language in FontCreator

Get help with FontCreator here. Please do not post feature requests or bug reports here.
Post Reply
Magistr01
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 10:05 am

Czech language in FontCreator

Post by Magistr01 »

Hi,
I want to create my own ttf font with Czech language support. How do i have to proceed?
Thank you for your detailed information.

Magistr01
Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 9054
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:28 am
Location: Seven Kings, London UK
Contact:

Re: Czech language in FontCreator

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala »

These are the additional accented characters that you need to write in the Czech Language.

If you start a new font, add the basic latin glyphs A-Z, a-z, etc., you can run the Eastern Europe Transform script to add all of the required characters and more.
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC13 Pro + MT10.0 @ Win10 2004 build 19041.746
Magistr01
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 10:05 am

Re: Czech language in FontCreator

Post by Magistr01 »

I opened a new font and added Basic latin glyphs. But I can't find "Eastern Europe Transform script". What button or where do I look for it?
Last edited by Bhikkhu Pesala on Fri Jul 12, 2019 4:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Fixed Typos
Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 9054
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:28 am
Location: Seven Kings, London UK
Contact:

Re: Czech language in FontCreator

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala »

The Glyph Transformer is on the Tools menu (unless you are using the Home Edition of FontCreator). Click the folder icon to open the Eastern Europe script.
Transform Wizard.png
Transform Wizard.png (12.09 KiB) Viewed 2625 times
If you're using the Home Edition you can select the glyphs from the Insert Character dialogue.
Insert Characters.png
Insert Characters.png (27.44 KiB) Viewed 2625 times
After adding the characters that you need, select the base glyph and the accent in the Glyph Overview, copy them and paste them into the relevant new (empty) glyph.
Glyph Overview.png
Glyph Overview.png (101.99 KiB) Viewed 2625 times
Then align them and set the side bearing to match the base glyph. Right-click on the base glyph, and open it in a new window to see the side-bearings, then close the new window, and apply the correct side-bearing from the glyph properties toolbar.
Ccaron.png
Ccaron.png (21.51 KiB) Viewed 2625 times
ccaron_lowercase.png
ccaron_lowercase.png (18.36 KiB) Viewed 2625 times
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC13 Pro + MT10.0 @ Win10 2004 build 19041.746
Magistr01
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 10:05 am

Re: Czech language in FontCreator

Post by Magistr01 »

Díky. Už jsem všechno našel a mohu se dát do zarovnáváni. :D

Bing Translation:
Thanks. I've found everything and I can put it in alignment.
Magistr01
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 10:05 am

Re: Czech language in FontCreator

Post by Magistr01 »

Some mistake. I got to the "open Eastern Europe" phase. Under the "script" window I click OK, something briefly flashed, but nothing happened with the character table. What am I doing wrong? :?
Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 9054
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:28 am
Location: Seven Kings, London UK
Contact:

Re: Czech language in FontCreator

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala »

Select each of the "Insert Characters" commands in the Transform Wizard dialogue, and then click on the Validate button. It will tell you how many new characters will be added. However, if they already exist, none will be added.
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC13 Pro + MT10.0 @ Win10 2004 build 19041.746
Magistr01
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 10:05 am

Re: Czech language in FontCreator

Post by Magistr01 »

I selected each of the "Insert Characters" commands in the Transform Wizard dialogue, but I didn't find the "verify" button.
Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 9054
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:28 am
Location: Seven Kings, London UK
Contact:

Re: Czech language in FontCreator

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala »

Which version of FontCreator are you using?
Validate Button.png
Validate Button.png (12.87 KiB) Viewed 2571 times
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC13 Pro + MT10.0 @ Win10 2004 build 19041.746
Magistr01
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 10:05 am

Re: Czech language in FontCreator

Post by Magistr01 »

FontCreator 12.0 Profesional Edition
Magistr01
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 10:05 am

Re: Czech language in FontCreator

Post by Magistr01 »

I've already solved everything. Embedding characters from Eastern Europe works perfectly. :D
Thank you for your advice and help.
Sincerely, Magistr01.
Bhikkhu Pesala
Top Typographer
Top Typographer
Posts: 9054
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:28 am
Location: Seven Kings, London UK
Contact:

Re: Czech language in FontCreator

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala »

Did you find the validate button yet?
My FontsReviews: MainTypeFont CreatorHelpFC13 Pro + MT10.0 @ Win10 2004 build 19041.746
Magistr01
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 10:05 am

Re: Czech language in FontCreator

Post by Magistr01 »

Yes, . I do.
Post Reply